Northern Sports Officials Association

General Membership Meeting Minutes 08-26-2018

Meeting was called to order at 12:12PM by President Parker

Pledge of Allegiance was recited

Declaration of Conflict of Interest – Was explained – Request for any and all to declare – No One declared

New Officials Introductions – 5 new members introduced themselves – Dennis Arouca, Wes Crooks, Dave Harrington, Tim Simon, Jessica McKinnon

Recognition of Semi and Finals Officials from last year

Presidents Report – Bill Parker

-Recruitment & Retention Coordinator was discussed – those interested email an executive board member stating interest – appointment to occur at next executive board meeting.

-Officials Appreciation Dinner – November 10, 2018 – discussion occurred -Motion by Ken Allen, 2nd by Dennis Hall – to spend up to \$2,000 on this dinner for members - passed unanimously – members to RSVP with number in their party attending

-Referee Pay issues were discussed and membership was updated on the pay schedules with schools and/or conferences

-Sportsmanship Issues were discussed – emphasis on our part with schools on their sportsmanship forms and report

Treasurers Report – Joe Johnson – Members were updated on expenses and revenue and current balances. Paul Smallwood hired to be our accountant in Jan 2018. Any inquiries can be made to Joe Johnson – Motion by Dennis Hall, 2nd by Tom Post approved

Lead Assignors Report – Barb Beckett

Board Members Comments - None

Members Comments – Pay Issues, Pace of Play for sub-varsity baseball games, request for discussion with conferences regarding time limits. Florida ejection policy discussed. Dennis Hall announced that this year's "Rules School" for basketball will be held on 11-12, 11-19 and 11-26 @ 7p at Fire Station 12 just like last year.

Elections – Barb Beckett – Members were informed that the President, Treasurer (1 year), Member at Large (2 yr) and Member at Large (1 yr) were up for election process. Bill Parker was running unopposed, Joe Johnson was running unopposed, Scott Jones and Jeff Lingaur were running for the 2 year member at large position and Mike Reed and Mitch Wilson were running for the 1 year member at large position. Barb Beckett called for any other nominatons from the floor from the assembled membership – none were proposed. Election took place. Barb Beckett, Mark Johnson and Mark

Stewart tabulated the votes. Bill Parker re-elected as President, Joe Johnson elected Treasurer, Scott Jones re-elected as Member at Large (2 year term) and Mike Reed elected Member at Large (1 year term).

Motion made by Dennis Hall, 2nd Ken Allen to immediately destroy the election ballots. If members wanted to know the final ballot count they could call Barb Beckett for that information.

Adjournment – Motion by Kevin Hughes, 2nd Ken Allen to adjourn – motion passed.